Zambia, officially the Republic of Zambia, is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. It borders the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. Formerly Northern Rhodesia, the country's name reflects the Zambezi river.

Capital: Lusaka

Language: English (official), major vernaculars - Bemba, Kaonda, Lozi, Lunda, Luvale, Nyanja, Tonga, and about 70 other indigenous languages

Calling Code: +260

Time: GMT +2 (EST + 7 hours)

Electricity: Electrical current is 230 volts, 50Hz. Adaptor Plug C, D and G

Religion: Christian (50%-75%), Muslim and Hindu (24%-49%), indigenous beliefs (1%)