Tanzania, officially the United Republic of Tanzania (Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania in Swahili), is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Kenya and Uganda on the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique on the south. To the east it borders the Indian Ocean.

The country is named after Tanganyika, its mainland part, and the Zanzibar islands off its east coast. Tanganyika united with Zanzibar in 1964, forming the "United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar", which later the same year was renamed the "United Republic of Tanzania".

In 1996, government offices were transferred from Dar es Salaam to Dodoma, making Dodoma the country's political capital. Dar es Salaam remains as the principal commercial city.

Capital: Dodoma

Language: Kiswahili or Swahili (official); English (official, commerce); Arabic (in Zanzibar), and many local languages.

Calling Code: +255

Time: GMT +3 (EST + 8 hours)

Electricity: Electrical current is 250 volts, 50Hz. Adaptor Plug D and G

Religion: Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar - 99% Muslim

Cheetahs after a meal on the Serengeti.