Rwanda, officially the Republic of Rwanda, is a small landlocked country in the Great Lakes region of east-central Africa, bordered by Uganda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania. Home to approximately 9 million people, Rwanda supports the densest human populations in continental Africa. A verdant country of fertile and hilly terrain, the small country bears the title, "Land of a Thousand Hills."

The country has garnered international attention most markedly for the infamous 1994 genocide, a sudden and savage massacre that resulted in the deaths of as many as 1 million people -- an atrocity achieved in just three months. Largely the result of centuries-long tension between the native Tutsi and Hutu populations, the massacre of 1994 betrays an enmity dating back to Rwanda's colonial days.

Capital: Kigali

Language: Kinya-rwanda, French, English.

Calling Code: +250

Time: GMT +2 (EST + 7 hours)

Electricity: Electrical current is 220 volts, 50Hz. Adaptor Plug C and J

Religion: Roman Catholic 56.5%, Protestant 26%, Adventist 11.1%, Muslim 4.6%, indigenous beliefs 0.1%, none 1.7%